Skip to content
Allure of the Seas berthed at Málaga, the Royal Caribbean ship Atlantis has chartered in full for March 2027
← The Journal

VACAYA, Atlantis and Big Gay Cruise:
what you are actually buying

Three 2027 sailings, three different products. Two of them buy the whole ship. One books a group onto a normal Royal Caribbean voyage — and on the published numbers, that is the one a solo traveller should look at first.

The short version

  • VACAYA and Atlantis charter the entire vessel; Big Gay Cruise books a group onto a regular Royal Caribbean sailing, so the rest of the ship is the general public.
  • Big Gay Cruise publishes a solo total for every cabin grade — $781 interior including taxes, or 85% of the two-person total.
  • Its All Access Pass is a separate $299 purchase ($499 VIP10), it rises $50 after final payment, and it cannot be bought onboard.
  • VACAYA charges a solo guest both halves of the double fare plus double gratuities. Atlantis publishes no solo terms at all.
  • The Atlantis charter is why Royal Caribbean cancelled a public Allure sailing that week and moved those guests to 21 March.

"LGBTQ+ cruise" describes two different transactions. One is a charter, where an event company buys the ship. The other is a group booking on a voyage anyone can join. The brochures read alike. The economics do not.

The distinction decides who is onboard, what your fare buys, and — the part most comparisons skip — what a single traveller pays. All figures below are the operators' own, read on 5 September 2026.

Three 2027 sailings, as published by each operator on 5 September 2026
  VACAYAAtlantisBig Gay Cruise
FormatFull-ship charterFull-ship charterGroup aboard a regular sailing
Dates14–21 Feb 2027 · 7 nights7–14 Mar 2027 · 7 nights30 Oct – 4 Nov 2027 · 5 nights
ShipCelebrity BeyondAllure of the SeasLiberty of the Seas
DepartsFort LauderdaleMiamiGalveston
CallsPuerto Plata · San Juan · PhilipsburgNassau · Cozumel · RoatánPuerto Costa Maya · Cozumel
Published fareSold out — waitlistFrom "$1499 for a week" — basis not statedFrom $920 two-person interior, taxes in
Solo termsBoth halves of the double fare, double gratuities, one port chargeNot publishedFrom $781 interior, taxes in

A charter removes the rest of the ship

The clearest illustration is not marketing copy — it is a cancellation. Royal Caribbean scrapped its own public 7 March 2027 Allure of the Seas sailing because Atlantis had chartered the entire ship for that week. There was no non-charter inventory left to sell.

Guests already booked were offered a 21 March departure calling at Nassau, Falmouth and Perfect Day at CocoCay, with their original fare or the current one — whichever was lower — plus onboard credit and up to $200 per person toward non-refundable domestic transportation change fees. That is the practical meaning of "full-ship": the cruise line gives up the week.

A hosted group works the other way. Big Gay Cruise's October 2027 sailing is a normal Liberty of the Seas voyage out of Galveston with an LGBTQ+ group aboard. Families and couples with no connection to the group are on the same ship, in the same venues.

Liberty of the Seas at sea, the Royal Caribbean ship carrying the Big Gay Cruise group as a regular commercial sailing
Liberty of the Seas sails its October 2027 Western Caribbean voyage as a regular Royal Caribbean cruise. The group is aboard; the ship is not chartered.

Neither model is better in the abstract. A charter gives density — you are not hunting for the one queer mixer on a ship of thousands. A hosted group gives separation, and usually a lower fare. What matters is which one you are actually buying.

The solo maths runs opposite to the marketing

This is the whole comparison in one idea. The charter sells you the room you are already in; the hosted group sells you a discount for being alone. Every piece written about LGBTQ+ cruising says the charter is the solo-friendly choice because the community is built in. On the published 2027 numbers, the only operator of the three offering a solo traveller any real price relief is the one that did not buy the ship.

Charters are routinely described as the solo-friendly option because community is built in. On price, the reverse is true across these three sailings.

Big Gay Cruise publishes a solo total for every cabin grade, taxes and fees included. A single guest does not pay double:

Big Gay Cruise, 30 Oct – 4 Nov 2027 — published cabin totals, taxes and fees included
Cabin One guest Two guests Solo share
Interior $781 $920 85% of the two-guest total
Ocean View $961 $1,100 87% of the two-guest total
Ocean View Balcony $1,321 $1,460 90% of the two-guest total
Suite $2,452 $2,591 95% of the two-guest total

Note which way the share moves. An interior costs a solo guest 85% of what two people pay together; a suite costs 95%. The relief is real at the bottom of the ladder and almost gone at the top — so a solo traveller chasing value should look down, not up.

VACAYA is explicit and expensive. Its own Solo Travelers page offers "My Own Room" on cruises to anyone willing to pay both halves of the normal double-occupancy and gratuities rate, plus one port charge. Solo guests pay double gratuities but single port taxes and administrative fees. VACAYA does not run automated roommate matching; it points solo travellers to its Solo Travelers Playground group, where you find someone, vet each other, and book the cabin together as any two travellers would.

Atlantis publishes nothing. Its 2027 Allure listing sets out the fare, the inclusions and the itinerary, but no solo policy, no roommate programme and no single-occupancy surcharge appears anywhere on it. Treat the solo cost as unknown and get it in writing before you pay a deposit.

Across all three, only one publishes genuine solo relief — and it is the hosted group, not either charter. For how supplements behave across the wider market, see low to no single supplement cruises in 2026, and solo cruise versus solo resort for the format question underneath it.

What each fare actually includes

Atlantis lists three things in every room: two all-inclusive day passes to Royal Caribbean's Paradise Beach Club in Nassau, "two drink coupon booklets with 21 beverage vouchers", and two complimentary specialty dinners at an Allure premium restaurant. The voucher wording is ambiguous about whether 21 is per booklet or across both — worth confirming, because it is the difference between a useful allowance and a modest one. Alcohol beyond the vouchers, Wi-Fi, spa, excursions and gratuities are not stated as included. Atlantis describes "over 5600 guys onboard", which is the operator's own answer to who the week is designed for.

VACAYA describes a full-ship charter positioned across the LGBTQ+ spectrum rather than one part of it — its 2027 Caribbean sailing on Celebrity Beyond had sold out by 5 September 2026, with a waitlist by email. Specialty dining and beverage packages sit outside the fare.

Big Gay Cruise is where the comparison usually goes wrong. The cabin total buys the cruise. The event does not come with it. The BGC All Access Pass is a separate purchase covering the group's programme — described as more than 40 hours of DJs, comedians, drag, vocalists and parties — and it is priced as follows:

  • $299 standard pass, $499 VIP10.
  • $149 standard in Grand Suites and above, with a free upgrade to VIP10.
  • +$50 per pass after the cruise final-payment date.
  • Not sold onboard. Miss it and you sail with the group but outside the programme.

The pass is not sold onboard. Buy it after the cruise final-payment date and it costs $50 more; turn up without one and you sail with the group but outside its programme, with no way to buy in. This is the single easiest way to get this trip wrong.

Add it in and a solo interior is $781 plus $299, or $1,080 all-in for five nights. That is the number to compare — not the cabin fare on its own.

Where each one earns its price

A charter's premium buys event infrastructure: production, performers, transformed venues, and a ship where you never have to explain yourself. If you would otherwise pay separately for that programming, the gap narrows. If you would skip half of it, you are buying something you will not use.

A hosted group is cheaper and lighter. It also cannot manufacture a ship-wide atmosphere, and its published solo pricing — genuinely the best of the three — comes with the fact that most people around you are not part of your trip.

Get these in writing before you pay

  1. Whether the sailing is a full-ship charter or a group aboard a commercial voyage.
  2. The single-occupancy calculation, as a number, for your exact cabin grade.
  3. What the cabin fare covers and what needs a separate pass or ticket — and the deadline for buying it.
  4. Gratuities, port taxes and administrative fees, and how each is treated for a solo guest.
  5. Deposit schedule and the date each cancellation penalty band begins.
  6. Accessible cabin availability, and the accessibility of private events, tenders and beach days.
  7. If sharing: how matching works, what happens if no match is found, and the bed configuration.
  8. Which entity holds your money and controls changes and refunds — the event company or the cruise line.

Frequently asked

What is the difference between a full-ship LGBTQ+ charter and a hosted group sailing?

On a full-ship charter an event company buys the entire vessel, so every passenger is part of the event and there is no other inventory to book. VACAYA and Atlantis operate this way. A hosted group places an LGBTQ+ group on a regular commercial sailing, so the rest of the ship carries the general public.

Which 2027 LGBTQ+ cruise is cheapest for a solo traveller?

Big Gay Cruise, by a wide margin. Its October 2027 Liberty of the Seas sailing publishes a solo interior total of $781 including taxes — 85% of the two-person total. VACAYA charges both halves of the double fare plus double gratuities, and Atlantis publishes no solo terms at all.

Is the Big Gay Cruise All Access Pass included in the cabin fare?

No. The BGC All Access Pass is bought separately at $299 standard or $499 for the VIP10 tier, or $149 in Grand Suites and above with a free VIP10 upgrade. Passes bought after the cruise final-payment date cost $50 more, and they are not sold once you are onboard.

What does the Atlantis 2027 Allure charter include in every room?

Atlantis lists two all-inclusive day passes to Royal Caribbean’s Paradise Beach Club in Nassau, two drink coupon booklets with 21 beverage vouchers, and two complimentary specialty dinners at an Allure premium restaurant. Alcohol beyond the vouchers, Wi-Fi, spa, excursions and gratuities are not stated as included.

Is VACAYA’s February 2027 Caribbean cruise still available?

No. VACAYA’s trip page listed the 14–21 February 2027 Celebrity Beyond sailing as sold out on 5 September 2026, with waitlist enrolment available by email for sold-out cabin categories. Availability can change, so confirm directly with the operator.

Why did Royal Caribbean cancel its March 2027 Allure of the Seas sailing?

Atlantis chartered the entire ship for its all-gay cruise that week, so there was no public inventory left to sell. Royal Caribbean offered displaced guests a 21 March departure with price protection at the original or current fare, onboard credit, and up to $200 per person toward domestic transportation change fees.

Do LGBTQ+ cruises waive the single supplement?

Rarely, and never assume it. Across these three 2027 sailings only Big Gay Cruise publishes genuine solo relief, and even there a solo guest pays 85% of the two-person total in an interior rising to 95% in a suite. Always request the single-occupancy calculation in writing before deposit.

Verification notes and sources

Every fare, date, itinerary and inclusion above was read on each operator's own site on 5 September 2026. Cabin totals and pass prices move, and the VACAYA sailing was sold out at the time of checking. The Allure cancellation is the one item not on a primary page — a cancelled sailing is removed from the cruise line's site — and is attributed to trade reporting of Royal Caribbean's statement. Atlantis publishes no solo policy; nothing is claimed about one here.

Sources

  1. VACAYA — 2027 Caribbean Cruise trip page ↗
  2. VACAYA — Solo Travelers: My Own Room and the Solo Travelers Playground ↗
  3. Atlantis Events — Epic Allure Caribbean Cruise 2027 ↗
  4. Big Gay Cruise — 5 Nights Western Caribbean 2027, published cabin totals ↗
  5. Big Gay Cruise — BGC All Access Pass ↗
  6. Cruise Industry News — Royal Caribbean cancels Allure cruise scheduled for 2027 ↗
  7. Cruise Critic — Royal Caribbean cancels 2027 Allure of the Seas voyage ↗

Photography

  • Allure of the Seas at Málaga — Thomas Dahlstrøm Nielsen, CC BY 4.0 (cropped to 16:9). Via Wikimedia Commons.
  • Liberty of the Seas — WikiEK, CC BY-SA 4.0 (resized). Via Wikimedia Commons.

Sailing this one alone?

The difference between a charter and a hosted group is not the brochure — it is the single-occupancy line on your invoice, and only one of these three publishes it. Tell me how you want the week to feel and I will price all three properly, solo rate included.

Begin the Journey

Fares, inclusions, itineraries, event access and cancellation terms are set by the operators and change without notice. This article is informational and is not a quote, a guarantee of availability, or a representation of any operator's current terms.

Our Curated Travel Collective & Solutions
Virgin Voyages
Cruise Line
Ritz-Carlton Yacht Collection
Cruise Line
Silversea Cruises
Cruise Line
Seabourn
Cruise Line
Viking Cruises
Cruise Line
Cunard
Cruise Line
Holland America Line
Cruise Line
Princess Cruises
Cruise Line
Norwegian Cruise Line
Cruise Line
Royal Caribbean
Cruise Line
MSC Cruises
Cruise Line
Ponant
Expeditions
V viator Excursions
GetYourGuide
Experiences
Big Gay Cruise
Cruise Events
VACAYA
Cruise Events
Atlantis Events
Cruise Events
Nautir
Travel App